Ben Franklin Community Service Award :: Wayne County Community Foundation
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide

Ben Franklin Community Service Award


Can you imagine having the opportunity to manage and to bestow money left by one of our country’s Founding Fathers? In 1790, Ben Franklin, printer, scientist, philosopher, community servant, and statesman, created a legacy that today reaches right into our own community! The Ben Franklin Fund represents one of the finest examples of what philanthropy is all about. The Fund shows how money set aside from a donor can impact the future. In Ben Franklin’s case it took two hundred years to bear the financial fruit he envisioned. In his will, Franklin bequeathed 1,000 pounds sterling, roughly equal to $4,000, to the Commonwealth of Pa.. Franklin knew his bequest would grow over time, so he stipulated that this amount be invested for 200 years and at the end of that time it had grown to over $2 million dollars.

In 1990, then Pennsylvania Governor, Robert P. Casey, signed a bill dividing the money between the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia and the State’s various community foundations. Indeed, the Wayne County Community Foundation was in the right place at the right time sharing in the distribution of the fund.

The Foundation has thereby established the Ben Franklin Community Service Award with its accompanying $1000 given to the recipient who then presents it to the local service organization of his or her choice. 

Past Recipients of the Ben Franklin Community Service Award:

  •     Edwin J. Thomas     1996
  •     Robert and Inger Stovall     1997
  •     Walter and Marilyn Barbe     1998
  •     Chuck and Wanda Jurgensen     1999
  •     Kent Brown     2000
  •     Sally Talaga     2001
  •     William and Paula Roos     2002
  •     Robert Knash     2003
  •     Peter and Molly Rodgers     2004
  •     James and Shirley Chapman     2005
  •     Joe Murray     2006
  •     Russell and Evelyn Ridd     2007
  •     Warren Schloesser     2008
  •     Bill Bursis     2009
  •     Harold Shook     2010
  •     Patricia and Leroy Spoor     2011
  •     Charles and Dorothy Grimm     2012
  •     Kuni Holbert, Elizabeth Baerenklua, Kathryn Highhouse     2013
  •     Virginia Motsko     2014
  •     Gary C. Beilman     2015
  •     Ann O'Hara, Jane Varcoe     2016
  •     Arthur and Gail Frey      2017
  •     Donna Decker 2018
  •     Paul and Sandy Meagher  2019
  •     Fred and Mary Murray 2020
  •     Henry Skier 2021